ME
MY ADDRESS LINE 1
MY ADDRESS LINE 2

March 17, 2014

UNNAMED Congregation
Body of Elders
Kingdom Hall of Jehovah’s Witnesses
UNNAMED ADDRESS LINE 1
UNNAMED ADDRESS LINE 2

RE: Formal Request to Disassociate

Dear Gentlemen:

Due to the ambiguity of my departure from regular association with Jehovah’s Witnesses, my parents and your congregation members, DAD and MOM, have long struggled with how to treat me.  Having seen the trauma they endured when my younger sister, SIS, was disfellowshipped for apostasy, I thought I might spare them at least some of the anguish by quietly “slipping away”, as you all are so fond of saying.

I have long felt that the teachings of the Jehovah’s Witnesses, promulgated through their publishing arm The Watchtower Bible and Tract Society, were completely at odds with Jesus’ core teaching: “God is love.” In particular, I could not swallow:

  • the idiocy of ostracism (driving someone away to bring them back? Give me a break.)
  • the hypocrisy of a faith can’t stand up to real contest or scrutiny (Why warn against higher education and comparative studies? Pure fear – which is the opposite of love.)

I knew by my father’s unnaturally stilted approach why he called me yesterday, and I told him there was no need to arrange a face to face meeting just to tell me they couldn’t see me anymore. My sister got the same call, however, and was devastated.  Her young children were in tears and she herself is barely functioning today. Your ostracism dogma disgusts me.

So for now, let me make things simple for my parents: I hereby formally, emphatically and irrevocably disassociate myself from this disgusting group that calls itself “Jehovah’s Witnesses”.

However slim the chance may be, I hope that my parents will one day escape from this delusion you call “The Truth”. And may God forgive you, for you know not what you do.

Sincerely,

ME

cc: SIS